Getting excited for Iceland….

Since I began teaching back in 2000, I’ve tried to fill my summers with new adventures and opportunities to explore, learn, and recharge for the upcoming school year. Over the years I have been able to work in different positions such as camp nature director or educational consultant for an executive internship program or guidance counselor for my school’s incoming 9th graders. I have been able to volunteer my time to travel with students throughout Europe, to the South Pacific, Central and South America. I have been able to participate in my own studies abroad in Africa, examining education in both South Africa and Ghana. And of course, I have been able to travel for my own pleasure and explore fantastic places and well as frequent favorite local destinations.

This summer I have been incredibly blessed, as I was selected to participate in the Grosvenor Teacher Fellowship program, which is a professional development opportunity made possible by a partnership between National Geographic Education and Lindblad Expeditions. (If you are a K-12 educator in either a formal or informal setting, I strongly suggest you check out this program, please feel free to email with any questions). I am honored to be recognized among such outstanding educators, you can learn more about the other fellows here. In July of 2016, I will travel aboard the National Geographic Explorer vessel for a 10 day expedition to Iceland. Check out the itinerary (courtesy of Lindblad Expeditions). 

A_Circumnavigation_of_Iceland

In April, I had an opportunity to meet with all the Grosvenor Teacher Fellows along with staff from both National Geographic and Lindblad during a pre-voyage workshop in Washington, D.C. Although the workshop was overwhelming (in the best way possible), I left also feeling invigorated and excited, desperate for July to arrive!

As I wrap up my sixteenth year in the New York City public high schools, my time in Iceland is quickly approaching! I’m excited to see so many geological processes in action as well as see the native flora and fauna of this gorgeous island. I’m excited to meet new people, both Icelandic and the people on the Explorer itself.

There’s a lot to do before I board the Explorer. I just bought my first semi-professional camera, and need to spend more time practicing. (My small dog, Boo, is not IMG_0033.JPGso pleased with being my constant “subject”, as you can see). I got a Canon EOS Rebel T5 digital SLR with the EF-S 18-55mm IS II and EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III lens (Amazon has a good deal, check it out). I need to make sure I have all the gear I need and practice packing “light” (usually not an issue). I need to figure out what I want to focus on, especially in terms of materials to bring back to my classroom and to my teachers’ classrooms. Videos, photographs, etc. Any suggestions or thoughts? What aspects of Iceland captures your attention? What would you want to see or hear or do?

 

Leave a Reply

